

Department of Engineering Safety Committee

Terms of Reference

Aim

The purpose of the Departmental Safety Committee is to assist and advise the Head of Department on planning, prioritisation and implementation of measures to manage the safety risks of departmental activities.

Membership

- Head of Building and Estate Services
- Departmental Safety Manager
- Safety Co-ordinator
- Laser Safety Officer
- Radiation Safety Officer
- Biological Safety Officer
- Fire Safety Manager / Facilities Manager
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div A
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div B
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div C
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div D
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div E
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div F
- Laboratory Technician Representative (Main Site)
- Workshop Technician Representative (Main Site)
- Dyson Design Centre Manager
- Whittle Lab Representative
- Schofield Lab Representative
- Teaching Office Representative
- IT Services Representative
- Administrative Staff Representative
- Administrative Staff Representative
- Graduate Student Representative

Where no Local Safety Co-ordinator is appointed or is in post, the Head of Division becomes Local Safety Co-ordinator by default.

Terms of Reference

- 1. Ensure significant safety risks are being managed effectively.
- 2. Develop actions to meet University and Departmental safety objectives.
- 3. Develop a programme of active monitoring (visits, checks and inspections) and the recording of significant findings and improvement actions.



- 4. To approve policy, standards, guidance and strategy for the management of health and safety at work within the Department and compliance with health and safety legislative and other requirements.
- 5. Determine actions necessary to address areas of non-compliance where there is significant risk.
- 6. Establish communication and consultation arrangements with staff, students and, where appropriate, local Trade Union safety committees.
- 7. Monitor and review health and safety performance through reporting, which should include:
 - a. Progress against health and safety action plans.
 - b. Accidents and incidents trends, investigations and lessons learned.
 - Work related ill-health statistics and trends.
 - d. Analysis from active monitoring, including safety tours, responsibilities and risk assessments.
 - e. Key risks and issues.
 - f. Health and safety training needs and completion of courses.
 - g. Issues to be escalated to Academic Committee.
 - h. Issues to be escalated to the University of Cambridge (UoC) HSEC (for matters of UoC policy and standards or those affecting UoC more widely).
- 8. Establish effective communication and co-operation arrangements with other parties in shared workplaces.

Meetings

The committee will meet four times in each academic year, so approximately at three month intervals.

The Committee will have a written agenda with standing agenda items (see Appendix

Committee meeting minutes will be published on the staff intranet/Departmental Safety Office website following acceptance, along with dates of future committee meetings.

The Chair is appointed by the Head of Department (HoD) and has the delegated authority of the HoD. From time to time the committee may invite additional persons to attend meetings who have special expertise in a subject to be discussed.

The Committee's Terms of Reference will be reviewed annually by the Committee.



Appendix 1

Current Membership of the Department of Engineering Safety Committee

Chair / Laser Safety Officer - Prof Tim Wilkinson

Head of Building and Estate Services - Mrs Rachel Williams

Departmental Safety Manager - Mr Gary Steele

Safety Co-ordinator - TBC

Radiation Safety Officer - Dr Geoff Parks

Biological Safety Officer - Dr Thierry Savin

Fire Safety Manager / Facilities Manager - Mr Matthew Greenhalgh

Local Safety Co-ordinator Div A - Dr Stuart Scott

Local Safety Co-ordinator Div B - Dr David Hasko

Local Safety Co-ordinator Div C - Dr Graham McShane

Local Safety Co-ordinator Div D - Dr Stuart Haigh

Local Safety Co-ordinator Div E - Dr Sebastian Pattinson

Local Safety Co-ordinator Div F - Prof Malcolm Smith

Laboratory Technician Representative (Main Site) - Mr Tony Dennis

Workshop Technician Representative (Main Site) - Mr Steve Papworth

Dyson Design Centre Manager - Mr Richard Roebuck

Whittle Lab Representative - Mr John Saunders

Schofield Lab Representative - Mr John Chandler

Teaching Office Representative - Dr Seb Savory

IT Services Representative - Mr Adam Strawson

Administrative Staff Representative - TBC

Administrative Staff Representative - Mr Ryan Cronin

Graduate Student Representative - Miss Ingrid El Helou

Graduate Student Representative - Mr Gurashish Singh

In attendance:

University Safety Advisor - Mr John Hulme
University Fire Safety Manager - Dr Margaret Glendenning
BOC In-house Manager - Mr Graham Jack

Note: Where no Local Safety Co-ordinator is appointed or is in post, the Head of Division becomes Local Safety Co-ordinator by default.

Updated: 02/04/2019



Appendix 2

Department of Engineering Safety Committee Agenda

- 1. Apologies
- 2. Minutes of last meeting
- 3. Matters arising
- 4. Accident/Incident Report
- 5. Fire Safety Report
- 6. Safety Officers Reports
 - 6.1 Departmental
 - 6.2 Biological
 - 6.3 Laser
 - 6.4 Radiation
- 7. BOC Report/Update
- 8. AOB
- 9. Date of next meeting